General Assembly logo71st General Assembly – July 6, 2018 - Destin, FL
Report by: Derek Anderson, MD, Speaker, LAFP General Assembly
Lisa Casey, MD, Vice-Speaker, LAFP General Assembly  
The 71st annual General Assembly convened on July 6th in Destin, FL at the SanDestin Golf and Beach Resort. Speaker Derek Anderson and Vice Speaker Lisa Casey presided as LAFP members and guests discussed issues and elected officers for the upcoming year.
The meeting provided members with addresses from Vindell Washington, MD, Chief Medical Officer for Blue Cross Blue Shield of LA and John Meigs, MD, AAFP Board Chair.  Dr. Meigs brought us greetings and information from the national Academy and also shared a presentation on the work of the board over the past year.

During the meeting, after the annual reading of the necrology report honoring our members who have left us in the past year, those in attendance considered and debated two resolutions.  The following is what was debated and passed during the assembly meeting:

  • Resolution 1: Support Measures to Decrease Maternal Mortality in the United States
  • The author of the resolution was not present to discuss the intent.  The Assembly debated the resolution and felt that it was unclear what some of the content in the resolution means.  There was also concern that some of the supporting documentation was not available for review. After continuous discussion, the Assembly voted to not support this resolution. 

  • Resolution 2: Prior Authorization of Medications and Denials
    The resolution was debated and the following was adopted by the Assembly:
    that LAFP work with state representatives, Louisiana State Medical Society, LA Academy of Pediatrics, and insurance leadership to require immediate notification to the physician and pharmacist of a same class covered alternative medication at the time of a denial.

Your 2018-2019 LAFP Board of Directors were elected and are as follows:

President: Christopher Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA
President-Elect: M. Tahir Qayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
Vice President: Kenneth Brown, MD, Alexandria, LA
Secretary: Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: Jonathan Hunter, MD, Alexandria, LA
Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA: Lisa Casey, MD, New Orleans, LA
AAFP Delegate: James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Delegate: Marguerite Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Wayne Gravois, MD, Zachary, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Resident Representative:
Rachael Kermis, MD, Baton Rouge, LA 
Resident Alternate: Drew Parks, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Student Representative: Travis Phipps, New Orleans, LA
Student Alternate: Rose Tusa, New Orleans, LA
District1 Director Brandon Page, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 1 Alternate Ronnie Slipman, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 2 Director Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Ralph Cortes-Moran, MD, Metairie, LA
District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA
District 3A Alternate Camille Pitre, MD, Larose, LA 
District 3B Director Amanda Phillips-Savoy, MD, Lafayette, LA
District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD, Eunice, LA
District 4 Director Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate Gregory Bell, MD, Coushatta, LA
District 5 Director James Smith, MD, Bastrop, LA
District 5 Alternate Euil Luther, MD, Monroe, LA
District 6A Director Jason Schrock, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA
District 6B Director Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA
District 6B Alternate Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Andrew Davies, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
District 8 Director Brian Picou, Jr., MD, Natchitoches, LA
District 8 Alternate Vacant
Director at Large Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Alt. Director at Large Dianna Phan, MD, New Orleans, LA
Reports were given by each of the committee chairs on the work that had been done over the past year.  After completing our business by early afternoon, Dr. Casey called for an adjournment. We hope everyone enjoyed their time in Florida. We look forward to seeing you all next year in New Orleans.

Member Login