General Assembly logo70th General Assembly – August 4, 2017 - New Orleans, LA
Report by:Derek Anderson, MD, Speaker, LAFP General Assembly
Lisa Casey, MD, Vice-Speaker, LAFP General Assembly  
The 70th annual General Assembly convened on August 4th in New Orleans, LA at the Roosevelt Hotel. Speaker Derek Anderson and Vice Speaker Lisa Casey presided as LAFP members and guests discussed issues and elected officers for the upcoming year.
The meeting provided members with addresses from Vindell Washington, MD, Chief Medical Officer for Blue Cross Blue Shield of LA and John Meigs, MD, AAFP President.  Dr. Meigs brought us greetings and information from the national Academy and also shared a presentation on the work of the board over the past year.
The 2017-2018 LAFP Board of Directors were elected and are as follows:
President: Jonathan Hunter, MD, Alexandria, LA
President-Elect: Christopher Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA
Vice President: M. Tahir Qayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
Secretary: Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: James Taylor, MD, Zachary, LA
Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA: Lisa Casey, MD, New Orleans, LA
AAFP Delegate: Russell Roberts, MD, Shreveport, LA
AAFP Delegate: Marguerite Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Resident Representative: James Robinson, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
Resident Alternate: Drew Parks, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Student Representative: Taylor Shepherd, Shreveport, LA
Student Alternate: Keanan McGonigle, New Orleans, LA
District1 Director Brandon Page, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 1 Alternate Ronnie Slipman, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 2 Director Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Ralph Cortes-Moran, MD, Metairie, LA
District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA
District 3A Alternate Camille Pitre, MD, Larose, LA 
District 3B Director Indira Gautam, MD, Lafayette, LA
District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD, Eunice, LA
District 4 Director Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate Gregory Bell, MD, Coushatta, LA
District 5 Director James Smith, MD, Bastrop, LA
District 5 Alternate Euil Luther, MD, Monroe, LA
District 6A Director Phillip Ehlers, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA
District 6B Director Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA
District 6B Alternate Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Andrew Davies, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
District 8 Director Kenneth Brown, MD, Alexandria, LA
District 8 Alternate Brian Picou, Jr., MD, Natchitoches, LA
Director at Large Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Alt. Director at Large Esther Holloway, MD, Coushatta, LA
Reports were given by each of the committee chairs on the work that had been done over the past year.  After completing our business by early afternoon, Dr. Casey called for an adjournment. We hope everyone enjoyed their time in New Orleans. We look forward to seeing you all next year in Destin.


Best Jobs Best Exposure Newsletter Sidebar Ad

Member Login