General Assembly logo69th General Assembly – July 8, 2016 – Destin, FL 
Report by:Derek Anderson, MD, Speaker, LAFP General Assembly
Daniel Jens, MD, Vice-Speaker, LAFP General Assembly  
The 69th annual General Assembly convened on July 8th in Destin, FL at the beautiful Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort. Speaker Derek Anderson and Vice Speaker Dan Jens presided as around forty five members and guests discussed issues and elected officers for the upcoming year.  As usual it was a lively meeting with many issues discussed and debated.
The meeting provided members with addresses from Rob Muscalus, DO, Medical Director of Care Transformation for Blue Cross Blue Shield of LA, Senator Dan Claitor and Robert Wergin, MD, AAFP Board Chair.  Dr. Wergin brought us greetings and information from the national Academy and also shared a presentation on the work of the board over the past year.
The 2016-2017 LAFP Board of Directors were elected and are as follows:
President: James Taylor, MD, Zachary, LA
President-Elect: Jonathan Hunter, MD, Alexandria, LA
Vice President: M. Tahir Qayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
Secretary: Christopher Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA 
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: Brian Elkins, MD, Alexandria, LA
Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
Vice-Speaker/GA: Lisa Casey, MD, New Orleans, LA
AAFP Delegate: Russell Roberts, MD, Shreveport, LA
AAFP Delegate: Marguerite Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: James Campbell, MD, Kenner, LA
AAFP Alternate Delegate: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Resident Representative: James Robinson, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
Resident Alternate: Ronnie Slipman, MD, New Orleans, LA
Student Representative: Koby Lanclos, LSUHSC, Shreveport, LA
Student Alternate: Michael Bacon, LSUHSC, New Orleans, LA 
District1 Director Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 1 Alternate Brandon Page, MD, New Orleans, LA
District 2 Director Daniel Jens, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA
District 3A Alternate Camille Pitre, MD, Larose, LA 
District 3B Director Indira Gautam, MD, Lafayette, LA
District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD, Eunice, LA
District 4 Director Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate Gregory Bell, MD, Coushatta, LA
District 5 Director Tobe Momah, MD, West Monroe, LA
District 5 Alternate James Smith, Bastrop, LA
District 6A Director Phillip Ehlers, MD, Baton Rouge, LA
District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA
District 6B Director Richard Bridges, MD, Amite, LA
District 6B Alternate Keisha Harvey, MD, Bogalusa, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Andrew Davies, MD, Lake Charles, LA 
District 8 Director Kenneth Brown, MD, Alexandria, LA
District 8 Alternate Brian Picou, Jr., MD, Natchitoches, LA
Director at Large Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
Alt. Director at Large Esther Holloway, MD, Coushatta, LA
Reports were given by each of the committee chairs on the work that had been done over the past year.  After completing our business by early afternoon, Dr. Anderson called for an adjournment. We hope everyone enjoyed their time in Destin. We look forward to seeing you all next year in New Orleans!
Click here to view the 2016 General Assembly Minutes.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Best Jobs Best Exposure Newsletter Sidebar Ad

Member Login