

Media Release

For Immediate Release August 20, 2013

For more information, please contact Ragan LeBlanc, Executive Director 225.923.3313 or <u>rleblanc@lafp.org</u>

The LAFP holds its 66th Annual Assembly and Installs its 2013-2014 Officers

Baton Rouge, LA. –The Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP) held its 66th Annual Assembly and Exhibition on August 1st-4th in New Orleans, LA. Approximately 150 family physicians from Louisiana and various states participated in this continuing medical education conference.

Many renowned speakers presented up-to-the-minute information on a broad range of health topics. Subjects to be covered in this four-day session are very important to family physicians striving to provide optimum health care for their patients. Physicians earned up to 17.0 hours of continuing medical education at this year's conference, making this an important medical education meeting for family physicians.

During the four day conference, the 2013-2014 officers were installed by the American Academy of Family Physicians Board Member, Dr. Rick Madden from New Mexico.

The LAFP is proud to have elected the following members:

President: Michael Harper, MD, Shreveport, LA
President-Elect: Melvin Bourgeois, MD, Morgan City, LA

Vice President: James Taylor, MD, Zachary, LA
Secretary: Brian Elkins, MD, Alexandria, LA
Treasurer: Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Immediate Past-President: Mark Dawson, MD, Rayne, LA

Speaker: Derek Anderson, MD, Baton Rouge, LA

Vice-Speaker/GA:Daniel Jens, MD, Mandeville, LAAAFP Delegate:Russell Roberts, MD, Shreveport, LAAAFP Delegate:Marguerite Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA

AAFP Alternate Delegate:

AAFP Alternate Delegate:
Bryan Picou, MD, Natchitoches, LA
Resident Representative:
Resident Alternate:
Resident Alternate:
Ronald Slipman, New Orleans, LA
Student Alternate:
Hannah Ray, New Orleans, LA

District1 Director Mary Coleman, MD, New Orleans, LA

District 1 Alternate Position Vacant

District 2 Director Daniel Jens, MD, Mandeville, LA
District 2 Alternate Luis Arencibia, MD, Mandeville, LA

District 3A Director Jack Heidenreich, MD, Raceland, LA

District 3A Alternate Position Vacant

District 3B Director Indira Gautam, MD, Lafayette, LA

District 3B Alternate Zeb Stearns, MD,

District 4 Director
Ricky Jones, MD, Shreveport, LA
District 4 Alternate
Gregory Bell, MD, Coushatta, LA
District 5 Director
Tahir Quayyum, MD, Bastrop, LA
District 5 Alternate
Tobe Momah, MD, West Monroe, LA
District 6A Director
Phillip Ehlers, MD, Baton Rouge, LA

District 6A Alternate Carol Smothers-Swift, MD, New Roads, LA

District 6B Director Chris Foret, MD, Franklinton, LA
District 6B Alternate Kevin Plaisance, MD, Covington, LA
District 7 Director Jason Fuqua, MD, Sulphur, LA
District 7 Alternate Jody George, MD, Lake Charles, LA
District 8 Director Jonathan Hunter, MD, Alexandria, LA

District 8 Alternate Matthew Erickson, MD

Director at Large Admir Seferovic, MD, Innis, LA

Alt. Director at Large Esther Holloway, MD, Coushatta, LA

###

About the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians

Established in 1947, the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians (LAFP) is one of the state's largest primary care organizations, with more than 1,500 member physicians, residents and medical students throughout the State of Louisiana. The mission of the LAFP is to promote and support Louisiana's family physicians in providing excellent health care and to provide a unified voice for family medicine. For more information, visit the LAFP website at www.lafp.org.